All News

Wednesday 27 March marked the official launch of the Max Planck-Bristol Centre for Minimal Biology, a partnership between the University of Bristol and the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science (MPG) in Germany. (read more…)

Twelve eminent scientists and exceptional early career researchers have been honoured in the annual Biochemical Society Awards. (read more…)

To mark its 75th anniversary, the Microbiology Society is embarking on an ambitious project focusing on how microbiology can help to achieve the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs). The UN SDGs are a collection of 17 goals that were adopted by all Member States of the UN in September 2015. They aim to address crucial economic, social and environmental challenges and promote a better and more sustainable future for all. (read more…)

The THYME project brings together researchers from the Universities of Hull, York and Teesside to address regional bioeconomy challenges. THYME have just announced the first projects to be awarded proof-of-concept funding with a total of £350,000 awarded to seven projects. A second round is expected later this year and THYME expects to run a three-year programme of Proof of Concept projects.

More details on the awards and how to apply can be found here

The projects funded are: (read more…)

Twenty-four shortlisted projects from the first stage of UKRI’s Strength in Places Fund have been awarded up to £50,000 funding to allow the development of full-stage bids. Four to eight of the strongest teams will receive between £10m and £50m each. (read more…)

In March 2019, a partial political agreement was reached by the European Parliament, Council and Commission on Horizon Europe, the EU’s future research and innovation programme. Horizon Europe aims to build on the successes of Horizon 2020 by continuing to focus on scientific excellence through the European Research Council (ERC). Horizon Europe will also incorporate new features, such as the European Innovation Council (EIC), which is currently running as a pilot scheme. (read more…)

On March 12, FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies (FDB), announced that it will acquire Biogen (Denmark) Manufacturing ApS, a large-scale biologics manufacturing site located in Hillerød near Copenhagen, Denmark. FDB is a renowned Contract Development and Manufacturing Organization (CDMO) with bases in the UK and USA, this will be the company’s fourth biopharmaceutical contract development and manufacturing site. (read more…)

KETBIO is an EU-funded coordination action under HORIZON 2020 that aims to support the development of biotechnology research and development, a Key Enabling Technology (KET). Their platform is open to all professionals and scientists in the various fields of biotechnology. (read more…)

In 2016, the ERA-NET Cofund on Biotechnologies (ERA CoBioTech) combined and built on three individual European Area Research network (ERA-NET) programmes in synthetic biology, systems biology and industrial biotechnology. The ERA CoBioTech partners and the biotechnology community have now developed a strategic agenda in order to influence and strengthen biotechnology research and technology development across Europe. (read more…)

In February 2019, EPSRC announced a £30 million investment in three new Manufacturing Research Hubs, including the Future Biomanufacturing Research Hub (FBRH). The FBRH will be led by Professor Nigel Scrutton and based at the Manchester Institute of Biotechnology (MIB), with ‘spokes’ at Imperial, UCL, Nottingham, the UK Catalysis Hub, IBioIC and CPI. (read more…)

On 4 February, the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) revealed the successful university proposals for Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs). The CDTs will be funded through EPSRC, which has allocated £444 million, with a further £2.2 million from The Natural Environment Research Council (NERC). Industry partners are contributing a further £386 million in cash or in-kind. (read more…)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *