Industrial Strategy Council – First Meeting

The first meeting of the independent Industrial Strategy Council took place on 1 November, led by the Chief Economist of the Bank of England, Andy Haldane. The group agreed how it will assess the government’s progress on the commitments made in the modern Industrial Strategy.

The Industrial Strategy Council is an independent non-statutory advisory group set up to review the impact of the Industrial Strategy and its contribution to UK economic growth. Its responsibilities include:

  • Recommending a series of success measures for the implementation of the Industrial Strategy
  • Commenting on delivery against these measures and their contribution to UK economic growth
  • Commenting on ways to improve the measurement of success, particularly in terms of productivity and the better use of data across government
  • Commenting on the effectiveness of how the impact of existing programmes that contribute to the goals of the Industrial Strategy are evaluated and make recommendations about how to improve evaluation where necessary
  • Publishing a regular public report assessing progress on implementation of the Industrial Strategy against success measures and on ways to improve measurement and evaluation.

Senior individuals from business, academia and civil society complete the line-up of the Industrial Strategy Council:

  • Andy Haldane (Chair) – Chief Economist, Bank of England
  • Dame Kate Barker – Commissioner of the National Infrastructure Commission and recently Chair of the Industrial Strategy Commission
  • Emma Bridgewater – Founder of Emma Bridgewater Ceramics
  • Professor Diane Coyle – Bennett Professor of Public Policy at the University of Cambridge
  • Jayne-Anne Gadhia – Ex-Chief Executive, Virgin Money. Member of the Scottish Business Taskforce
  • Christine Gaskell – Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) Chair, Cheshire and Warrington
  • Rupert Harrison – Managing Director of BlackRock
  • Dame Vivian Hunt – Managing Partner UK and Ireland, McKinsey, Chair of CBI London Council
  • Dame Rotha Johnston – Chair of Northern Ireland Screen
  • Professor Juergen Maier – Chief Executive of Siemens plc
  • Sir Paul Marshall – Co-founder and Chairman, Marshall Wace LLP
  • Sir Charlie Mayfield – Chairman, John Lewis Partnership, Chair of Be the Business
  • Lady Nicola Mendelsohn – Advertising executive; Vice-President for Europe, the Middle East and Africa for Facebook. Non-Executive Director of Diageo
  • Archie Norman – Chair, Marks & Spencer. Formerly Chief Executive of Asda, Chair of ITV, McKinsey Consultant and Director at GEEST, Railtrack and Kingfisher
  • Hayley Parsons – Welsh entrepreneur and investor, and Founder of GoCompare
  • Roy Rickhuss – General Secretary of Community and member of the General Council of the Trades Union Congress
  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell – President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Manchester and Professor of Physiology, Co-chair of the Council for Science and Technology and past President of the Royal Society of Biology
  • Professor Jennifer Rubin – Executive Chair of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), Professor of Public Policy at Kings College London
  • Rohan Silva – Co-founder of Second Home, Senior Visiting Fellow at LSE Cities
  • Matthew Taylor – Chief Executive, Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA)

Read more here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *