First wave of Future Leaders Fellowships Announced

In May 2019, the Science Minister Chris Skidmore announced the first wave of Future Leaders Fellowships, helping researchers and innovators become world-leaders in their fields. 41 Early Career Researchers from universities across the UK will each benefit from a share of £40 million towards cutting edge research addressing fundamental global issues, including tackling climate change and revolutionising travel across cities.

Over the next 3 years, the Future Leaders Programme will support 550 academics with an investment of £900 million in their research. The scheme invites people throughout the world, with academic or business backgrounds, to apply for support to work closely with business to take their discoveries from the laboratory to the commercial market.

“The Future Leaders Fellowships offer long-term support for the most talented researchers and innovators. Fellows will be encouraged to be adventurous in tackling tough and important research questions and opportunities for innovation. The Fellowships offer opportunities to move across disciplinary boundaries and between academia and industry. These Fellowships will enable us to grow the strong supply of talented individuals needed to ensure that UK research and innovation continues to be world leading.”

Mark Walport, UK Research and Innovation Chief Executive

“From Sir Tim Berners-Lee’s creation of the World Wide Web, to Rosalind Franklin whose work was critical in understanding DNA, we have a rich history of talented individuals who have paved the way for ground-breaking research and discoveries in their fields. Our investment in these Future Leaders Fellows will enable the brightest and best of our scientists and researchers to work with leading lights in industry, to help their research move from the laboratory to the commercial market. This support to the next generation of scientists and researchers is a key part of our modern Industrial Strategy, and our commitment to raise R&D spend to 2.4% of GDP by 2027 will maintain the UK’s position as a world-leader in science and innovation and building on our historic legacy.”

Chris Skidmore, Science and Innovation Minister

The 41 Fellowships are:

  • Lucy Barnes, University College London
  • Katie McQuaid, University of Leeds
  • Hatef Sadeghi, Lancaster University
  • David Schaich, University of Liverpool
  • Eamonn Reading, King’s College London
  • Marta Andres Miguel, University College London
  • Constance Smith, The University of Manchester
  • Paul Donaldson, STFC – Laboratories
  • Sarah Lewthwaite, University of Southampton
  • Sanjeev Kumar, University College London
  • Michelle Percharde, MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Reinhard J Maurer, University of Warwick
  • Alkistis Pourtsidou, Queen Mary University of London
  • Sarah Marks, Birkbeck College
  • Esther Breithoff, Birkbeck College
  • Hong Liu, University of Warwick
  • Adam Perriman, University of Bristol
  • Eva Vilella Figueras, University of Liverpool
  • Fiona Watt, University of Oxford
  • Kirsty Le Doare, St George’s University of London
  • Conor Fitzpatrick, The University of Manchester
  • Alexander Valavanis, University of Leeds
  • Lauren Gregoire, University of Leeds
  • Marc Aurel Busche, University College London
  • Ke Li, University of Exeter
  • Rod Mitchell, University of Edinburgh
  • John Simeon Biggins, University of Cambridge
  • Mathilde Jauzac, Durham University
  • James Lea, University of Liverpool
  • Filipa Cox, The University of Manchester
  • Fay Bound Alberti, University of York
  • Amanda Gail Jarvis, University of Edinburgh
  • Natalie Shenker, Imperial College London
  • Hien Ngo, Queen’s University of Belfast
  • Helen Frances Dodd, University of Reading
  • Anahid Basiri, University College London
  • Ruth Keogh, London Sch of Hygiene and Trop Medicine
  • Sarah Lloyd-Fox, University of Cambridge
  • Benjamin Lichman, University of York
  • Anna Lisa Varri, University of Edinburgh
  • Baojun Wang, University of Edinburgh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *