Biochemical Society 2020 Award recipients

Twelve eminent scientists and exceptional early career researchers have been honoured in the annual Biochemical Society Awards.

Each year the Biochemical Society presents a series of prestigious awards that recognise excellence and achievement in specific and general fields of science. Candidates are nominated by their peers and the winners are agreed by a judging panel of respected scientists, from across a range of different scientific backgrounds.

These winners will receive their prize and deliver an award or medal lecture in 2020. All of the awards and medal lectureships carry prize money and, as part of the prize, winners will also be invited to submit an article to one of the Society’s publications.

“I am deeply honoured to be awarded the GlaxoSmithKline prize for 2020 by the Biochemical Society, which recognizes the work by my talented team and our collaborators. Together we have driven forwards the application of single cell genomics and computation to human tissues, providing new insights into the molecular and cellular details of development and disease, achieving deep insights into processes governing health and disease.”

Dr Sarah Teichman, Head of Cellular Genetics, Wellcome Sanger Institute

“It is a huge honour to receive this award. The UK has a fantastic research community with great opportunities for young scientists. I hope we will foster this culture of openness and maintain a thriving research environment that promotes fundamental and interdisciplinary research.”

Stephan Uphoff, University of Oxford

“Scientists and researchers in the biosciences community play a valuable part in society and the Biochemical Society Awards are the perfect way to honour those exceptional individuals who are leading the way. As ever, the standard of the nominees was incredibly high and our winners can be justifiably proud of their achievements. The awards provide recognition of their professional excellence and are a real tribute to the talent within the biosciences. On behalf of the Society, I’d like to congratulate all of the winners, every one of whom has made an outstanding contribution in their respective fields. Well done.”

Professor Colin Bingle, Professor of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology, University of Sheffield, and Chair of the Biochemical Society’s Awards Committee

The complete list of winners is:

Centenary Award: Professor Dame Kay Davies, University of Oxford, UK

The Colworth Medal: Dr Stephan Uphoff, University of Oxford, UK

Early Career Research Awards:

  • Dr Sara Priego Moreno, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA
  • Dr Andrew Hammond, Imperial College London, UK

Heatley Medal and Prize: Professor James Barber, Imperial College London, UK

Industry and Academic Collaboration Award: Professor Matthew Dalby, University of Glasgow, UK

International Award: Associate Professor Wai-Hong Tham, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Australia

The Keilin Memorial Lecture: Professor Judy Hirst, MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit, UK

The Morton Lecture: Professor Gurdyal Singh Besra, University of Birmingham, UK

Teaching Excellence Award: Dr Jo Rushworth, De Montfort University, UK

The GlaxoSmithKline Award: Dr Sarah Teichmann, Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK

The Thudichum Medal: Professor Maria Grazia Spillantini, University of Cambridge, UK

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *